Colorado State Resources
A GUIDE FOR THE DOCUMENTS YOU WILL NEED AT THE DMV
Here is a link to the DMV "What you need to bring and the DMV REQUIREMENTS to get a Permit or a LICENSE
Making an APPOINTMENT at the DMV
YOU CAN USE THIS LINK TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AT THE DMV!
DMV WAIT TIMES
Check this resource to find approximate "WAIT" times at the DMV
MANDATORY RULE FOR ANYONE APPLYING FOR AN INSTRUCTIONAL PERMIT, TAKING AN EXAM, CLASS COMPLETION CERTIFICATE. THIS LINK IS A MUST TO SECURE A CODE FOR ALL STUDENTS BETWEEN THE AGES OF 15 THROUGH 18
CO State Driver Handbook
Free 2019 CO Driver Handbook Permit Tests
UnderstandingThe Graduated License Laws
This link is a great resource for both parents and teens to understand the rules on getting a license. The colorado teen driving alliance and CDOT have formed a coalition for this great interactive and informative link.
Take a Practice Test
The sample questions on this site are derived from the Colorado Driver License Handbook. The actual questions on the official Colorado State Instructional Permit Exam will differ in their verbage. Colorado Driver Safety Institute, Inc. is not responsible for the contents of this site nor its questions. You are advised by Colorado Driver Safety Institute, Inc. to study the State Handbook thoroughly inorder to pass the actual exam.
I'm 15, What do I need to do first?
The things you need to know before getting a Colorado Permit.
I am 15 1/2 - 16 years old
The rules for getting a permit within the age of 15 1/2 - 16
I am over 16
Information for those over the age of 16
Snap Chat CDOT Info! It's Cool
Distracted Driving Resources
Driving and Multi-tasking
What Happens When We Text and Drive
This video is graphic, please do not allow those under the age of 14 to watch.
Driver Safety Facts and Resources
Driving School Index
Dangers of Distracted Driving
The rules of the road apply to drivers of all ages, but there are certain additional restrictions that all teen drivers need to know. Below are some of the important rules to remember before getting your drivers license in Colorado.
Teens with a permit:
No passengers other than a driving instructor, parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older (authorized by parent/guardian).
Teens with a license:
> For the first six months, no passengers under 21, unless a parent or other licensed adult driver is in the vehicle.
> For the next six months, one passenger under age 21 (unsupervised).
> Siblings and passengers with medical emergencies are exceptions.
> At any time, no more than one passenger is allowed in the front seat.
Mandatory Seat Belts
By law, ALL teen drivers and passengers must wear seat belts (no sharing!).
Cell Phones and Texting Banned
Teens under age 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Teens can be fined and may risk losing their license. Exceptions include emergency calls to the police or fire department.
For the first year as a licensed driver, your teen must abide by a curfew - no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian. Exceptions include: driving to/from school/work (signed statement from school/work required), medical emergencies, and emancipated minors.
Curfew laws may vary by city or county. To properly follow the curfew in your area, please confirm restrictions with your local government.
Zero Tolerance for Drunk Driving
Eight young people die every day in the U.S. in alcohol-related crashes.
Talk with your teen about the dangers of driving drunk or riding with someone who has used alcohol or drugs. Driving under the influence of alcohol - even a trace of alcohol on minor drivers - is punishable by law.
For a refresher on all traffic laws, review the Colorado Department of Revenue's Drivers Handbook.
For more information on CO Teen Driving, please visit the Colorado DOT website.